current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


A Disclaimer
2005-01-08, 12:24 a.m.

A Little Disclaimer for the "Money Tree" entry.

Regarding teaching as a way to get rich:
HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

*wiping tears of laughter*

Teaching is a noble profession, but pay varies astronomically between states and even districts. A sad fact: I could sub here for 10 days a month and make almost the same salary I did while teaching full time in SC. When I was a first grade teacher, I made about $18K per year.
Yes, I said $18,000. Public school. Your tax dollars at work.

Our "lounge" had two folding chairs and an avocado fridge. Didn't matter, we rarely had occasion to step in there. Breaks? What are those?

They do pay better here.

So why have I not returned to teaching? Well, first, I need to be home with my children for now, especially Son. He does NOT fare well in daycare. Second, my patience grows thinner with each passing year. Sometimes I ponder that should I get one or more unruly students, before the end of the school year I would check myself into the nearest loony bin. Chances are, I'd find more unruly parents than students.

Then, I look back on the joy of teaching. The moments when a child "got it" and that sparkle of learning kicked in, the excitement of reading that sentence or solving that math problem or remembering how to spell a certain word. THAT'S what keeps teachers in the classroom. Not money, not benefits, but the total gratification of seeing and knowing that you've laid another brick in a kid's foundation for life.

Will I return to teaching someday? Most likely. Now's not the right time. I substitute teach on occasion, but not this year. Two children in separate schools on opposite sides of town, different arrival and dismissal times, no buses at Son's school, mandatory parent volunteerism (his is a sort of "magnet" school)...the logistics this year have made subbing nigh impossible.

Plus, I'm bound to win the Powerball.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter