current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Still A Mover And A Shaker
2005-01-04, 4:11 p.m.

This evening, after selling our souls to procure the help of GroovyGuru and good neighbor Boomhower, there will be much heave-ing and ho-ing as we move the 1,900 lb armoire to our new home. This is not a simple armoire, this is a pressboard and veneer one that had just under 6 million parts, and inspired Hubby to utter many a forbidden word during its construction. At the Apocalypse most things will be destroyed, but the survivors will include cockroaches, Ford Mavericks, and pressboard and veneer furniture.

It might be lighter and easier to lift the pickup and wedge it under the armoire.

The Guru may not be able to update for awhile. It will be hard to do so while in full body traction.

I found a new toy today. Wood glue. Not just any old wood glue, this is GroovyGuru�s Cement Your Unruly Children To The Outside Wall strength wood glue. Good stuff. Wood glue and clamps are adult Tinkertoys. I happily glued and clamped until I ran out of broken stuff to glue and clamp. If I get bored I may break some stuff so I can glue and clamp some more. Bonus: I didn�t glue myself to anything. I rule.

This morning I was captive audience to the most interesting fencing estimate I�ve had the good fortune to witness. A very eager fellow about as big around as my ankle paced off our new backyard in roundabout footage (after telling me his tape measure was broken), and quoted the cost of a four-foot wooden fence with two gates. Actually he quoted several times, and the footage and the estimate grew each time. He included the gates after explaining to me briefly that we *could* have a fence with no gates (the HELL?), but then we�d have problems getting in and out of it. Amazing. I had never considered that possibility. Thank you, Jethro, for that nugget of wisdom, my life will never be the same again. Then he said they could set the fence posts tomorrow. Whoa there boy, what we�re doing here is called an ESTIMATE, not signing a business contract. Besides, even I know that you have to call the toll-free idiot-about-to-dig number a full day ahead so the utility companies can mark off the spots where their lines are supposedly located. I say �supposedly� because we had our other yard marked once, Hubby dug on the other side of the yard that was decreed free and clear, and sliced right through the phone line.

By the time he left I had a hankerin� for some of Granny�s corn squeezin�s.

Shook off the yokel and got back to work. It was a mildly productive morning, because after I played with glue and clamps I hung a large shelf with a minimal amount of obscenity-hurling. Triumph. I unpacked a box of breakables and reloaded my china cabinet. I ripped a couple of uncooperative screws out of the wall. I felt like Rocky after his first win.

I�m so easy to entertain.

More fun thanks to bettyalready:


Lucy Ricardo


What classic sitcom character are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

I�m Looooooocy! And I�d better not spend any more time on here, or else I�ll have some splainin� to do�

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter