current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Basking in the Son Shine
2005-02-17, 8:40 p.m.

Son�s latest school debacle is, I think, at somewhat of a muddled yet satisfactory conclusion. Son cannot tell the difference between teasing and bullying; the boys doing the (they thought) friendly ribbing did not know that. Add in a few embellishments by Son, combine with him existing mostly in his own little world, and tie it all in with the occasion last year that he WAS bullied. I would rather him err on the side of caution than allow something to go on. The other boys have gone out of their way today to be overly nice to Son, so that he won�t misinterpret their actions. The teacher moved swiftly yesterday to get all things sorted out, and Son emerged from school today a happy boy. I will continue to revel in my developing ulcer. Nothing like children to keep your sanity in short supply.

This afternoon, his future�s so bright, you gotta wear shades. Marvelous Marley (enter twittering bird song) got the little stuffed musical kitty from Son on Valentine�s Day. She wrote him a little thank-you note on purple paper decorated with pencil hearts. He gave her our phone number. This afternoon, on an electric scooter quest for Daughter, Marley (insert heartzapoppin) spotted us driving through town and had her mother follow us until we pulled into a parking lot at an overpriced vroom-vroom vehicle store, just to invite Son to her birthday party on Saturday. She also has our phone number memorized already. Son couldn�t even speak. He just sat on the back seat with a big goofball grin and choked. *insert more poppin� bubbly hearts*

And no, we didn�t find an affordable electric scooter. Yet.

Daughter has her own romance rekindled with last year�s sweetheart, Anthony. Anthony is crew-cutted and blue-eyed and almost perfectly round. When that kid has a pubescent growth spurt, he will be the size of a muscled meat locker. He is also easygoing, funny, and about the cutest dimpled thing you�ve ever seen, especially that he�s a whole head shorter than Daughter. She made a special Valentine for him and ordered me not to peek, which of course I did as soon as she was out of sight. It was sweet and not gushy, sensible and completely appropriate. My peeking, that is. The Valentine was pretty good, too. He will be picking her up in a couple of weeks for their first official date, the Spring Fling dance at school. Daughter asked him first. That�s my girl!

The Together Family is staying with us for a few days, tending to loose ends and finalizing their move to Georgia. Its great fun having them around, as their kids are testament that children are capable of behaving, something I hope will rub off on my own two simians. How often do you have four extra children rummaging around, and not even be aware of their presence? I�m convinced that their mom has some sort of voodoo secret, but as of yet I haven�t seen any traces of chicken feet or zombie induction potions.

I�m going to sign off here for now and root through her suitcase while she�s distracted. Maybe that potion�s in there and I can sneak a vial.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter