current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Have a Heart
2007-02-10, 1:56 p.m.

Diaryland Delinquent back again. I do apologize for being remiss in bouncing around, visiting all of you, leaving comments and generally feelin� da love. Instead I�ve been too busy feelin� da crazy.

My mother had some usual rounds of doctors� appointments, which led to one mad-as-a-wet-hen stress test, which led to one mad-as-a-wet-hen trip to a cardiologist, which will lead this Monday to one mad-as-a-wet-hen angioplasty and possible stent.

::::::::::::::::::cue melodrama::::::::::::::::::::

I am concerned, but not overly worried. The doctor is very good, the hospital is great, and overall Mama is in good health. Neither her internist nor her cardiologist felt it was unduly urgent. These procedures have evolved into something bordering on routine, so I think everything will turn out ok. However, Mama is coping in her usual fashion by checking daily to make sure I have proper *dress clothes* that I am bringing with me, and that I will have Hubby�s and kid�s somber duds prepacked, �just in case�.

I remind her that there�s no need, as we plan to have her stuffed and mounted in her recliner, clutching the remote for all eternity. That gives her a completely new angle about which to fuss and fret. Seeing as how she�s not happy unless she�s fussing and fretting about SOMETHING, I consider that a success.

Far more worrisome to me is that Hubby will be in charge of himself and our children for the better part of a week. Perhaps �worrisome� isn�t the right word. Did you know you can develop an ulcer in a matter of days? Yep, you sure can. Hubby is bright and competent and hard-working and capable, but only once has he kept our children by himself overnight, when I went 18 miles away to a church retreat. I was gone less than 24 hours, but Hubby made at least 4 desperate phone calls needing to know where things were, what to do, and how much longer until I was coming home. I was preparing a to-do list for him for next week, when it hit me: he doesn�t even know how to check our voice mail.

I have today and tomorrow morning to wean him.

That gives my mother something else to chew on, which makes her happy.

So if you are so inclined, take a minute Monday to send up a little prayer for uneventful medical procedures and children making it to the bus with all supplies, and upon my return I�ll post photos of happy healthy family members and the remnants of cases of soft drinks, Twinkies, and white bread with Tabasco (the new Breakfast Trinity, coming soon to stores near you).

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter