current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Sick a-bed
2010-02-22, 2:50 p.m.

I�m home sick today.

A stomach bug hit in the middle of the night. I stayed awhile in the bathroom, then slept with my trashcan (appropriated a number of years ago from the Ramada Inn by the previous homeowners) by my bed and decided it was best to not go in today. I don�t feel well, but I don�t feel unwell, either. It�s that annoying mid-dimension of illness that makes one restless and bored. Plus I�m hungry, which leads to experimentation. Chicken and stars soup? Good. Banana? Not good. Right now I�m trying Double Stuff Oreos.

I called it quits after the third. Not soon enough.

How bored am I? Enough to clean out closets and rearrange linens. I have a couple of those storage bags where you suck out all the air and mimic the amazing feats they do on television. I�m going to see if I can fit 3 afghans, 2 comforters, 2 blankets, two bedspreads, one canopy, and the sleeping bag I got when I was four into one bag. If nothing else, it will be fun to just play with the vacuum and watch them squash.

While I was excavating bedding, I came across the bedspread and pillow shams that I had growing up. The color goes well in my bedroom now, so I took the time to do a little bring-on-spring sprucing up. I popped an album on my vintage Sears stereo (complete with 8-track) and got busy. There was something oddly soothing and satisfying about adjusting the Sears Permaprest across my bed, making the baby blue eyelet hang just so while Heart crooned �Dreamboat Annie� with all the familiar pops and scratches, the absence of which makes music on cd sound so�vacant. I�m 14 again, except I can like, you know, drive and stuff.

I wonder what will be my kids� Holly Hobbie and metal lunchboxes, stuffing quarters into the Caterpillar arcade machine in Eckerd�s Drugstore, popped collars on Izod polos, calling the deejay 12 times in a row to request a song? What will be their After School Specials and Saturday morning cartoons and banana seat bicycles? One day when they look back, what will make them regenerate?

And will their time warp bring them feelings as good as mine?

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter