current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


The Daily Happy
2004-09-10, 12:50 p.m.

Today�s fortune:

You are open and honest in your philosophy of love.

Well, it�s pretty true, I guess. This one is a whole lot better than some of the others I�ve got.

***************************************

I just got back from delivering Daughter�s extra credit science project to school. She had to sprout lima beans. Of the 3 she brought home, one was a dud and the two others are growing nicely. So that I wouldn�t disrupt class, I took it while the kids were out to recess� it also gave me a chance to snoop and see how the others fared. Hers wasn�t the best, but was by far not the worst. As if it was some sort of contest. Why do we moms do that? Especially since we all know that MY kid is the one that rocks. So there. No one else need apply.

This morning�s chiropractor visit went well. He was a little more aggressive with the neck adjustment today, but so far things are just fine, it hasn�t triggered a migraine. That�s a good sign, as migraine relief/prevention is the sole reason I�m going. Several years ago I saw a different one, who did a different neck adjustment on the first visit, and it threw me within half an hour into a nasty episode. This guy is better, going about it more slowly and gently, and it�s ok. There�s a lot of snap, crackle, pop goin� on that is unnerving but not painful in the least. Head still attached? Check. Thunderbirds are go.

The receptionist and nurse for the chiropractor are very likeable and chatty. They roll their eyes at the doc�s groan-worthy jokes and have fun with the patients. Seems the doc was poking fun at Hubby during his last back adjustment. Hubby came home and said the doc (and the ladies, playing along) told him I had given them all �the scoop� on Hubby, like I had given them great giggly secrets or embarrassing tales. He said it half-jokingly, looking at me with that one raised eyebrow and lilted voice that indicated he wasn�t quite sure to believe them or not. Jackpot. Did I mention Hubby�s gullible?

So, when the receptionist mentioned teasing Hubby to me this morning, I told her he in a way believed it. Her eyes widened, and she had no idea he was that gullible. Yeppers. So, she and the other ladies hatched an immediate plot to tell him this afternoon that he did/said something to tick me off, and he had better not show up at home today without flowers. I told her to say he did/said the �offense� this morning when he was leaving for work. We�ll see if I get the flowers. More likely they, as well as I, will get another raised eyebrow and a great big �HUH?� , after which he will help himself to a bowl of cereal with nary another thought.

Hubby, despite falling for practically everything, is brilliant. Literally. He reads physics books for fun. He enjoys doing complex mathematical equations. He can remodel a home almost single-handedly, from framing to electrical to plumbing to drywall. He�s good at woodworking, good at car repair, good at cooking, AND he does the dishes. However, I found out something last night that had me doing the happy dance in the end zone.

My SAT scores are higher than his.

Never you mind that we took the SAT�s nearly 2 decades ago, I beat him. NYAH NYAH NYAHNYAH NYAH Go Sally, Go Sally, Go Sally� ::::::::spiking empty plastic cup:::::::

OK. I�ve had my validation for the week. Shortly I will pick up my kids from school, who have undoubtedly learned some whiz-bang computer trick this week and will knock me off my crowing perch back onto humble ground.

***************************************

POSTSCRIPT: Hubby came home before his chiropractor's appointment, so he knew darn well he wasn't in trouble. He let the ladies grill him a bit for fun, and when they said he needed to bring me flowers, he told them that all I was gonna get from him was a cold hard stare. He let them gasp for a bit before cluing them in he had already been home and knew of their intended ambush. He's so good natured and loves a good joke, whether giving or receiving.

He's lucky he's not in trouble. The reason he came home early was because he got the mirror on the truck fixed. The truck mirror needed repair because he had knocked it off when he sideswiped the neighbor's (apparently cast iron) hedge a week ago. Hello...you can't spot a 25-foot-long hedgerow? Well, we all make mistakes. But why did his have to cost almost TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS to rectify? That dry sucking sound you hear is our bank account. The yowling is our children, after being informed we shall eat beans for the next 2 weeks. Bleah.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter