current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Cabinet vs. Humans, Round 3
2004-09-11, 5:39 p.m.

After being plastic-wrapped for the week as protection from the rain, Hubby released The Hoosier Cabinet into the fresh air and sunshine for another bout of refinishing.

I took a dive and declared The Cabinet the winner after searing my flesh far too many times in the chemical spray. There is still a dotted line just below my right elbow, making me appear as though I have a perforated arm a-la paper towel style. So, rather than soak himself in the same flesh eating liquid, Hubby decided to sand. Sanding the areas that had already been eviscerated went very well. The wood underneath is lovely and in great condition. The parts of The Cabinet that have not been stripped are unsandable, thickly coated in the leaden force field that was established half a century ago. All I know is, I ain't doing the stripping. Stick a fork in me, I'm done. I haven't seen something sizzle skin so thoroughly since Sigourney Weaver was blasting aliens and spewing forth droplets of their acidic blood. If I get much more on me, there will be tiny Hoosier cabinets bursting forth from my chest to take over the world. I'm an Earthling, count me out.

Hubby forayed to Sherwin Williams and bought a huge can of yet another type of chemical stripper, one that is easily neutralized with water, and will hopefully work much better than the mutant military waste that I originally chose. We'll see. My advice to all of you is, if the can says "gentle on all antique furnishings", RUN.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter