current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Cheap And Easy
2004-09-23, 4:59 p.m.

I told y�all today is a good day. The kids and I went to T@rget for a few necessities and came out with a SCORE. Houston, we have liftoff.

Daughter has a duvet cover but no duvet. I�ve been hunting since July for a deal on a stuffing-worthy comforter. I snagged a nice one on clearance today. It�s a fuschia x-long twin, regularly $19.99� I got it for $4.98 ! Ta-daaaaa! That�s cheaper than a scruffy old one at a yard sale; since it�s not going to be seen, the color doesn�t matter, and I don�t have to launder the hell out of it before use like I would an old one.

The other is our little luxury. We have a bottled water cooler. It tastes better, and we are plumb spoiled by having instant ice water. All of us drink a LOT more water now that we have it, and the cost of the water itself is minimal. It�s the $10 a month cooler rental that adds up. I�ve had my eye on the coolers at T@rget, and today the one I wanted was on sale! For the equivalent of 8 months� cooler rental, we now own one. Even better, this one has a HOT WATER DISPENSER alongside the cold, and extra refrigerated space underneath. I�ll have to pinch a few pennies here and there, perhaps FINALLY list my eB@y stuff, but it�ll be worth it. Son is a hot chocolate addict who can now have it on-demand, rather than insisting Mom heat the kitchen to 300 degrees in order to boil a cup of water. The ice water is a tempting treat in our house and is a big weight loss boost for both Hubby and me, and it�s cheaper than joining a gym. Ice water and evening walks with Hubby make for a very agreeable workout.

White-winged-bird-brand sensitive soap? 2 bars for $1.97. Same soap, T@rget brand? 2 bars for 99�. Do the math.

On our walk the other evening, Hubby and I found a vintage pole lamp that someone set out in the bulk trash. Perfect condition, original globes, everything. Hubby hauled it home, and this weekend he will inspect/clean/rewire if necessary. Then we�ll decide whether we want to use it in our funky mod little living room, or list it on eB@y. I have a pole lamp on our sun porch/tiki room that I bought from a dude in Minnesota on eB@y. And to think I could have had one for free. *grumble* We are striving mightily to turn this place into a pad. Some day, some day�

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter