current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


A Thrill and Perhaps The Demise of Imagination?
2004-10-20, 8:47 p.m.

Oh My God. They�re back. Must. Find. Poster. In. Attic. *squeal* (Thank you BBC America for both the email alert and the link. You rule.) And yes, I know they've technically been around for a bit, but not with all original members. The dweeb in me is happy about this new fact. Besides, I'll have a reason to listen to the non-XM radio every so often now. There is hope beyond the hip hop and the ho's that permeate today's airwaves. I am tired of having to frantically flip stations when my kids are within earshot, because the lyrics seem to come straight out of Hustler.

Is it just me, or truly is Everything Old New Again?

There�s a new version of Battlestar Galactica (Starbuck's a wee bit different). VH1 has a whole series on simply casting for a retread of The Partridge Family. We�ve already had Charlie and his Angels and Starsky and his Hutch. We had live-action Thunderbirds (that was wrong, just wrong). A new movie of The Munsters is in the works.

(On the bright side, if the old stuff is cool, then I�m cool, baby, cool. I�m so hip it hurts. No, that�s my hip that hurts, sorry. Where was I again?)

I once read a short story by someone I don�t recall (it�s that age thing again), about music and copyrights. It was set far into the future, with a young woman presenting her case to a lawyer as to why all music copyrights should be obsolete. As there are a finite number of music notes, and therefore a finite (albeit really large) number of combinations, at that future time all possible original works had been composed. The only way to continue to write music would be to re-compose tunes penned ages ago. Just as there was a limit to the notes, there was a limit to the imagination.

I thought it would be a while longer before we reached it.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter