current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


GRRR ARGH
2004-10-12, 8:06 p.m.

Immediately after bringing home Baby�my new Heywood Wakefield cabinet, that is�I popped onto eB@y and purchased the definitive identification and value book. It arrived today.

My cabinet isn�t in there.

There is one little disclaimer in the front, that certain �specialty� modern lines are not included.

I searched online, and found more information. That information said that when the company shut down years ago, just about every plan/photo/design/tool/scrap of wood was sold or destroyed. Heywood Wakefield is up and running again, but they have no way to help identify vintage pieces.

I Googled the model number. Nothing.

I Yahooed it. Still nothing.

I searched tons of vintage furniture sites, especially those who deal primarily in HW. Surprise! Even more nothing.

The specialty sites all said to consult the definitive guide (that I have already devoured), and that if your piece of furniture isn�t in there then you�re SOL.

So, here I am with a really cool cabinet that most likely has some sort of really cool design name and a really cool value and really cool history and is really rare and NO WAY TO FIND IT OUT.

I am off to beat my head against the brick fireplace wall.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter