current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Spongebob, Sinks, and Not Being Sick Anymore
2004-11-21, 5:53 p.m.

Boy oh boy, I need this as my mantra these days:

Matthew 11:28-30
New International Version
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Granted, my burdens are far less than what so many others shoulder, but they are tiring regardless. It's not so much the quality as the mass quantity. Like Kirk under the tribble deluge, sometimes seeminly minor things can become a major pain if you're standing in a pile of it.

Son is doing much better, tired and devoid of appetite, but no more fever and cheerful and talkative. He will be back at school tomorrow, much to his delight. NOT. Look for a sudden, Oscar-worthy attempt at relapse. He�s ready for his close up, Mr. DeMille.

Yesterday was filled with �start one project and discover 50 others that must be done simultaneously�. Hubby began to drag out items from under the sink to set to the task of unclogging the potatoes from the pipes, and spotted a mouse. Thus we had to take out every freaking thing, sort, toss, scrub, disinfect, scrub some more, and then he could fix the clog. And a stubborn clog it was. Finally I was able to reorganize the lower cabinets, and we scrubbed the sink and countertops and did multiple loads of dishes before having the kitchen under control. We set two mouse traps, and trapped two unlucky mice over a few hours� span. They were dispatched out front to a delighted kitty who totally enjoyed this new �meals on wheels� deal. We reset the traps and as yet there are no more meeses. Hopefully those were the only two vagrants that will try to become winter squatters.

Thanks to the wonder of F@ndango, I bought tickets around noon to the 4:50 showing of The Spongebob Movie. Good thing, as when we arrived at the theatre it was sold out. There were sobbing young�uns at the box office over the unavailability of tickets. Sorry kiddoes, your parents could have bought them early too�not very charitable of me, but hey. I don�t know who was more excited to be going, our kids and the Guru Two, or GroovyGuru and Hubby. If we had not purchased early tickets, Guru and Hubby would have also been part of the sobbing sidewalk throng. Anyway, the movie was a hoot, everyone in the audience was howling with laughter, and David Hasselhoff simply brought down the joint. Go see it, if only for his part. Ride the Hasselhoff!

Daughter is perusing comforters and curtains for her new bedroom. She gets to customize the room of her dreams�within reason, of course. I�ve been trying to talk her out of a cheetah print she spotted. (Har, har, spotted. Har.) It�s nice, but so�so�boring. Nothing but brown. Bleah. I think she would be happy with it for about 5 minutes and then would be ready for a riot of color. She is now interested in that �shaggy chic� fuzzy bedding in neon colors, snazzy and energetic. You can get matching bead curtains, which I think was the cincher. I want her to have the ultimate funky cool teenage room. Her current bedroom has dainty little pink rosebuds (NOT our choice) and frilly sh*t, which she despises and nearly puts me in a diabetic coma. Sugary sweet and prissy poo, begone we say! Begone!

Son has decided he likes his cowboy-and-Indians theme after all, so long as he can have a Patrick pillow to go along with his Spongebob one. One less bedroom to redo? Works for me.

Today I�m making a flailing stab at housework. Tomorrow, more pointless meandering with cleaning chemicals, a chiropractic appointment, basic errands, shopping for a birthday gift for MIL, looking into minor repairs on my parents� house here before the closing on Nov. 30th, the inspection on the home we�re getting, resumption of small repairs on this house, contacting parents on the lengthy school list to beg donations for winter break treat bags, wrapping up last minute minor emergencies before leaving on Wed. for the holiday weekend�


last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter