current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


It's a bird! It's a plane! It's a music shuffle survey!
2006-05-03, 12:26 p.m.

Attention Parents of Teens: Let me know I can survive this.

Watching Daughter with her buddies has become a contact sport and showed me just how sweetly sheltered she�s been. Her more erstwhile streetwise buddies have christened her as blondetarded, and she is in a Goldie-Hawn-Goes-Goth kind of way, way smarter than she lets on but gamely naive. For me, calculating how naive is too naive and how streetwise is too streetwise is now an algorithm that fluctuates daily.

And I ain�t no rocket scientist.

On the flip side is my mother, giving me the long distance cat o�nine tails for refusing to regularly view �Deal or No Deal� and logging on to win her $10 grand and there must be Something Really Wrong with Hubby and myself for not liking what everybody else likes. She is very serious with her assertation. She was a beauty queen, cheerleader, member of the basketball team, and serial dater; my father was co-captain of the football team, no-nonsense debater, and squire of the most popular girl in high school. I don�t think my mother has ever reconciled herself to the fact that their genes combined to produce a science-loving society-shunning bookish nerd.

She did, however, appreciate, back in the day, that it translated into �full college scholarship�.

Like I�m using any of it now.

Anyhoo...

This is originally a MySpace-Go-Round, but I thought it would be fun to pop it on here as well and share the joy. I used the iTunes rotation and found how the minor deities at @pple have no concept of the word �shuffle�, because with 5,572 songs from which to choose, they repeated three different artists. (Also, there�s the fact that the Nirvana box set is MASSIVELY HUGE and takes up half the iTunes library.) If you�re reading this, consider yourself tagged.

Your Life: The Soundtrack

So here�s how it works: Open your choice of music [iTunes, Limewire, Kazaa, etc.] and put it on shuffle. Press play. For every question type the song that�s on. And when you go to a new question press the �next� button. Ready? GO!


Opening credits:
End Theme from Sleepy Hollow--Danny Elfman (End Theme? Maybe I wasn't born, but regenerated like Doctor Who?)

Waking up:
Old and Wise---Alan Parsons Project (I've already ended, now I'm dying? And being all gloppy about it in the process.)

>Average day:
Curmudgeon, B-side 1992---Nirvana (You are blocking my path to the Mr. Coffee. MOVE, Fool.)

First date:
No Tell Lover---Chicago (Now THAT is a date.)

Falling in love:
Theme from the old Thunderbirds tv show--Thunderbirds are GO! (Woohoo! I'm with someone adventurous, heroic, lives on a secret island, and has tons of tres quool gadgetry. I can deal.)

Fight scene:
Buried Myself Alive--The Used (Perhaps I'd better stay behind on the island and brush up on my mad mad fighting skillz.)

Breaking up:
You Never Know---Goldfrapp (plucking palm fronds like daisy petals...loves me, loves me not...)

Getting back together:
Hard to Say---The Used (Odd, guess I�ve got a fear of commitment, but God I love this island...)

Secret love:
Chump--Green Day (A few Boy Toys to do my bidding. Life is good..)

Life's okay:
If You Must (Demo 1988)--Nirvana (If you must resign me to a fate of living on this secret island, richer than God, with kick ass gadgets and men falling at my feet..I suppose that would be ok.)

Mental breakdown:
Solsbury Hill---Peter Gabriel (Do Not Disturb. I'm in my Happy Place. I like it here. The squirrels and gnomes bring me candy.)

Driving:
Vegetable--Radiohead (I'm the first to admit, the interstates can get pretty damn dull. I�ll just hitch a ride in the FAB 1.)

Learning a lesson:
Time After Time---Eva Cassidy (Forgive me? ::::batting lashes, looking demure::::)

Deep thought:
What She Said---The Smiths (I surround myself with only the best minds, you know.)

Flashback:
Been A Son---Nirvana (AHA! Reincarnation. Explains the whole "regression" theme from the beginning, and probably why I wear only jeans.)

Partying:
Barbarism Begins At Home---The Smiths ( Party at YOUR lair, I ain't cleaning up that mess.)
Happy dance:
Ride Captain Ride--Blues Image (Doin' the funkee white girl shoulder-sway thing.)

Regretting:
Stop Running Away---Telepopmusik (Yes ma'am. ::::trotting self back to secret island::::)

Long night alone:
At My Most Beautiful---R.E.M. (So I'm all gussied up and they�re gone on a far-off rescue mission?)

Death scene:
Who Wants To Live Forever---Queen (I shit thee not. This really is what popped up. Awesome. ::::envisioning whole mega-roastin� battle scene, but guess my fight skillz sucked big time:::::)

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter