current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


This entry was brought to you by Esquivel, Timothy Leary, and the letter P.
2006-05-06, 12:35 a.m.

Sunday�s the big day�my goddaughter�s First Communion. My bff is emailing me directions to the big event in Nashvegas and has reassured me that we have only to watch (not get up front and do anything thereby goofing something up and ruining the wee one�s big day), and there is nothing any more difficult than the standard Cathorobics. GENU-flect and ONE and two and�

The kids each have a sleepover buddy, and while I�m waiting for them to settle down I�ve been poking around online and enjoying the heck out of Esquivel. I do like me some Esquivel. There is all manner of pithy discourse as to blah blah what made him so innovative and blah blah stereo recording techniques and blah blah instrument combos, but I prefer to plow through that and chalk it all up to speaker-hopping. It bounces from one speaker to another or ebbs and flows from right to left and back again or swirls in a Latino eep-oop-ork-ah-ah and you don�t just listen, you bob around the room with it, trying to swoop up the notes in your hands only to have them flit through your fingers and toy with you a little longer.

It�s also great fun to say. Esquivel. ESS-kee-vehl. You�re listening to whom? ESS-kee-vehl. Sounds like a badass Zorro sidekick. ESS-kee-vehl.

I�ve found a couple of mighty acid flashbacks on You Tube: H R Pufnstuf and The Electric Company. God bless Sid and Marty Krofft and better living through chemistry. And I never knew just how stellar-toppled was good ol� Electric Company, for among the notable visible presences (Morgan Freeman, aka Easy Reader, and Rita Moreno, aka Pandora the Little Girl, to name a couple) were tucked the inimitable voices of Gene Wilder (Letterman), Mel Brooks (blonde cartoon man), and Zero Mostel (Spellbinder).
I propose a new bumper sticker for my generation:
�If you can read this, thank Morgan Freeman and Gene Wilder.�
THAT ought to get a little attention.

My dog is snoring behind me, kids are all quiet�

Good night everybody, and may all your dreams be sweetly psychedelic.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter