current
archives
profile
links
email
notes
host
image
design








groovyguru.diaryland.com


onewetleg.diaryland.com

acaldwell.diaryland.com







Like me? Link me!

sallydallydo.diaryland.com



Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


Terror Alert Level is
Terror Alert Level


Cable and Other Wednesday Musings
2004-10-27, 10:32 a.m.

9:52am.

I�m waiting for the cable guy to come set up a new DVR box. The appointment is for between 8 and 10am. If he�s late, I�m supposed to get $20 from the cable company. Either I�ll be $20 richer and not get my DVR for another 3 weeks (after some more botched appointment-setting), or the guy will show up at 9:59am.

I had asked them to call before coming. 9:55am. I just got the phone call. So I was 4 minutes off. I was close.

***********************************

Today is Hubby�s 39th birthday. I�m meeting him for lunch at 11:30. Since I tried the nearby Thai/sushi restaurant last week, I have been CRAVING that place. More so than chocolate, so you know somethin�s goin� on. I suggested to Hubby that we meet there for lunch, but he wants App*lebee�s instead. *grumble* I like App*lebee�s and we haven�t been there in awhile, but my body is aching for the total carb/curry/coconut saturation that only the Le*mon Grass can provide. I�ll have to get takeout for lunch tomorrow.

Ix-Nay on baking an Ie-Pay. I will have just enough time today to make Hubby�s favorite pumpkin carrot cake, so I�ll buy some pies to go along. One cake to share, one pumpkin pie to share, and one cherry pie for Guru III to refuse to share. That boy is going to turn pink one day soon, due to mass cherry consumption.

This is one of those weeks where I am having great trouble remembering what day it is. All day long yesterday I thought it was Wednesday. Monday just didn�t seem like a Monday. Everything is running together, I am being very forgetful as to appointments or little schtuff that needs to get done, and it�s driving me nuts. I don�t have the kids� Hallowe�en costumes ready, I STILL haven�t put away Laundry Pile From Hell, and I am so not ready for the yard sale on Saturday. I just can�t get my act together this week. Pray next week is better.

I am doing good in one regard, and that is ignoring the political mudslinging. Why is it that both sides have followers that think that by beating and berating the opposition, they will sway the opposition to their side? Beat them into submission, good idea. Gooooood idea. Spout negative idealistic crap, that will win them over. Point out what a pathetic waste of oxygen someone�s candidate of choice is, they will flock to your side. Can the knee-jerk reactions, folks, and take the time to examine the issues from various points of view.

It�s called an OPINION, your preference for a candidate. Opinions are neither right nor wrong. A guy in one of my high school classes once got an opinion question wrong on a quiz. How? It had to be supported by facts, and he got the facts wrong. Americans have facts coming at them from innumerable sources, many of them questionable or undoubtedly biased, yet they use them to form opinions. There are no truly unbiased sources. There is no reason to vilify those who support a different candidate than you or I choose. Within each party are millions of differences. Not all Republicans are pro-life, not all Democrats oppose the war in Iraq. You have to define your own core beliefs, and find the candidate who comes closest. Will there ever be a perfect candidate? Of course not. You vote for whom you believe is best for the job, but continue to speak up regarding issues. Find the facts for yourself from a wide variety of sources, and then vote people, not parties.

Overall I am a Republican, but I support our Democratic governor. He�s doing a bang-up job in our state, far better than his Republican predecessor. It has more to do with the man and his personal policies than it does with his party. I don�t view Kerry as an evil man (unlike that boob Clinton, whom I used to teach my kids about Stranger Danger), but I don�t like his lack of policy and non-divulgence of plans and how his voting record doesn�t match his platform. I don�t agree with Bush on everything, but there are many things with which I do.

The issue of the First Lady vs. Potential First Lady has been raised. I do take that into account. It does not govern my choice of candidate, but it is a small factor. The President is still a human being with the same needs and loves and desires as everyone else. Being the leader of the free world is no easy task, and he deserves his family�s support. In an interview, Thereeeza said she had no desire to be First Lady, and when her husband entered the presidential race she had no idea it would go this far. She supports her husband because she needs to, not because she wants to, and she has not been happy about the whole thing. So now people are going to vote for Kerry, and put in office a leader who doesn�t have his wife�s total unconditional support? Don�t underestimate how much influence a First Lady has on a President. Husbands and wives are teams who generally take each other into consideration and learn to compromise. For you Democrats out there, bear in mind that Thereeeza comes from many years of Republican conservatism, and Republicans note that Laura Bush has more moderate views than does her husband (she leans towards pro-choice, for example).

Ah, the cable guy is here. Must toodle.

last - next

|
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com


ALT="Weatherpixie"--> The WeatherPixie
Site Meter